Our Book Clubs


The Linwood Community Library currently hosts two book clubs:

Check out what each group will be reading next!


GRUFFIES:


July: The House on Foster Hill by Jaime Jo Wright

August: Written in Love by Karen Fuller

The House on Foster Hill Written in Love

From Library Journal: "Widow Kaine Prescott's snap decision to buy an old, abandoned house in her grandfather's Wisconson hometown quickly turns into a nightmare. Malevolence haunts its hallways, and Kaine learns that Foster Hill House has a tainted past, including a murder at the turn of the 20th century. In 1906, Ivy Thorpe discovers the body of a recently pregnant girl stuffed into the base of a tree.Obsessed with finding both the missing baby and the murderer, Ivy puts herself directly in the crosshairs of the killer.

Headed by two strong female protagonists, Wright's debut is a lushly detailed time-slip novel that transitions seamlessly between past and present, leading to the revelation of some surprising family secrets that someone would kill to protect.

VERDICT Readers who enjoy Colleen Coble and Dani Pettrey will be intrigued by this suspenseful mystery."

"Dear Mr. Chupp"–with those three words, a pen-pal relationship is ignited and two lives are changed forever.

Jalon Chupp has a past he isn't proud to claim. He's worked hard to overcome his youthful mistakes, and he has recommitted himself to his Amish faith. When he receives a sweet note included in a piece of misdirected mail, he can't help but write back. Soon, the letters he receives from Phoebe are the highlights of his days, and with a hopeful heart, he suggests they meet in person.

Phoebe, too, looks forward to every single one of Jalon's letters. Living with her overbearing aunt, Phoebe doesn't have too much to look forward to. Then Jalon suggests they meet, and she panics—although she has shared some of the deepest longings of her heart with him, she hasn't been entirely truthful about her past. But when Jalon shows up at her aunt's doorstep, everything is revealed. And she can only pray he'll forgive her for holding back the truth.

In order to reach beyond the errors of their pasts, both Phoebe and Jalon must put their faith in something—or Someone—bigger than either of them could pen.


SATURDAY ADULT BOOK CLUB:


July: The Memory of Lemon by Judith Fertig

August: Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

The Memory of Lemon Sometimes I Life

Author Judith Fertig will visit during the July book club meeting

A crisp tang of citrus that is at once poignant and familiar, sharpening the senses and opening the mind to possibilities once known and long forgotten...

Claire "Neely" Davis is no ordinary pastry chef. Her flavor combinations aren't just a product of a well-honed palate: she can "taste" people's emotions, sensing the ingredients that will touch her customers' souls. Her gift has never failed her—until she meets a free-spirited bride-to-be and her overbearing society mother. The two are unable to agree on a single wedding detail, and their bickering leaves Neely's intuition frustratingly silent—right when she needs it most.

Between trying to navigate a divorce, explore a new relationship, and handle the reappearance of her long-absent father, Neely is struggling to make sense of her own conflicting emotions, much less those of her hard-to-please bride. But as she embarks on a flavorful quest to craft the perfect wedding celebration, she'll uncover a family history that sheds light on both the missing ingredients and her own problems—and illustrates how the sweet and sour in life often combine to make the most delicious memories...

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me:

1. I'm in a coma.

2. My husband doesn't love me anymore.

3. Sometimes I lie.

Amber wakes up in a hospital. She can't move. She can't speak. She can't open her eyes. She can hear everyone around her, but they have no idea. Amber doesn't remember what happened, but she has a suspicion her husband had something to do with it.

Alternating between her paralyzed present, the week before her accident, and a series of childhood diaries from twenty years ago, this brilliant psychological thriller asks: Is something really a lie if you believe it's the truth?


Library Hours

  • Monday: 9:00 A.M. - 6:30 P.M.
  • Tuesday: 9:00 A.M. - 6:30 P.M.
  • Wednesday: 9:00 A.M. - 6:30 P.M.
  • Thursday: 9:00 A.M. - 9:00 P.M.
  • Friday: 9:00 A.M. - 6:30 P.M.
  • Saturday: 11:00 A.M. - 3:00 P.M.
  • Closed Sundays
  • Monday: 9:00 A.M. - 6:30 P.M.
  • Tuesday: 9:00 A.M. - 6:30 P.M.
  • Wednesday: 9:00 A.M. - 6:30 P.M.
  • Thursday: 9:00 A.M. - 9:00 P.M.
  • Friday: 9:00 A.M. - 6:30 P.M.
  • Saturday: 11:00 A.M. - 3:00 P.M.
  • Closed Sundays

19649 Linwood Rd.
(913) 301-3686

Pinterest